top of page
  • Writer's picturerchote

Paint Roller

Updated: Sep 19, 2018


After having a convocation about how the feedback loop would work, I wanted the experience of changing the materiality of the table to be really explicit. I decided that to do this the object that you use to change the material should be highly directed towards the action made when using the object in the physical space. For this reason I decided to use a paint roller, which has a primary purpose of changing the surface finishes of walls and objects.


I explored the object and how it would be presented in the virtual environment:



I want to produce a animation that will match the stroke of the brush on the objects.

I will do this by using a video on top of the objects renderer.


I will use a transition slide I bought to create this video and edit it in premiere pro.



I tried to get the alpha content included in the video file but exporting into unity on the PC at school didn't work so I adapted the video files to each potential transition so I could call these transitions in a script.




The initial video files were very pixelated so I titled large images so create a higher resolution map for the transitions.



This ended up looking like:









https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ukY2IGDXSAU

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

VOC_LAB Project Statement

The VOC Lab is an exploration of how as spatial designers we can use design in virtual environments to explore what can’t be recognized in the physical world. VOC Lab explores how we perceive unhealth

bottom of page